Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

What they don't tell you...

jellybeanjc · 30/04/2022 22:57

Before I start, I'll tell you I'm no expert. I'm just a normal girl who has been floored by this week by a miscarriage at 5 weeks (that actually hasn't happened yet but my doctor tells me she's 'certain') and want my experience to help someone else who's desperately searching these threads as I have been.

What they don’t tell you is that brown blood, red blood, cramps, can all be normal or they can mean a miscarriage.
There is no definite science.
What they don’t tell you is that a lack of pregnancy symptoms (like nausea, sore boobs, exhaustion) could be normal (you lucky thing) or could be a further sign of miscarriage.
Nobody will ever commit to an answer.
What they don’t tell you is that miscarriage isn't always a sudden horror event, or even a few days and it's over. Sometimes, your doctor will tell you to wait 2 weeks before they'll even refer you to the hospital for a check up, and you'll have to spend those endless days just waiting for it to happen.
It can feel like they don’t care.
What they don’t tell you is that when something so terrifying happens, and you feel like you have nowhere to turn, speaking to friends, family, strangers online can be a comfort but can also make it worse, and that dichotomy in itself is painful.
You should do what feels right to you.

What else don’t they tell you? Please help me to make this thread a source of information for anyone feeling the soul-crushing fear that I have felt this week.

OP's posts:
Please
or

jellybeanjc · 30/04/2022 23:02

What they don’t tell you is that they say they can't scan you before 6 weeks, but what they really mean is that they can’t use a scan as a diagnostic tool that early in pregnancy, and asking for an early scan could bring you peace, or it could give you false information.