Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

having 3 children AND a career - possible?

moonwalk · 12/07/2011 10:42

Ladies

I am new to these boards and have read especially this board with huge fascination Grin

I have 2 children (3 and 1years old) and am very very keen to have one more.. but also I am just starting out on my freelance career which I am hugely passionate about... dilemma.. We have 4 days of childcare in place, so time wise it should be just about ok to get working..

But I remember being really tired during my previous pregnancies.. Can you focus on a (freelance) career / your own business during your 3rd pregnancy? How is working life once you have 3 kids?

See, I want both... not sure if it would be possible..

OP's posts:
Please
or

verybusyspider · 12/07/2011 12:34

I have 3 - now just 5, 3.5 and just 2, I work 4 days a week in a professional job but I do shorter days so I can pick up from school, luckily I work very close to home.
One thing to bear in mind, in my experience, when they are at day nursery it is much easier, the hours are more flexible and the continuity of care is there 51 weeks of the year. I found school much more challenging and ds has found it hard work - I never appreciated how hard he'd find 6 hrs of school vs 10 hours of a nursery day. We also have the logistics of holiday care to organise, it becomes more difficult if dh has to work away or be in early. You also have 3 times the likely hood of one of them being ill. I spend a lot of my time outside of work rushing around for pick ups and getting dinner on the table