My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Find cleaning advice from other Mumsnetters on our Housekeeping forum.

Housekeeping

How do I find a cleaner?

12 replies

sagitta · 02/07/2008 11:05

I have just realised I am not coping with the cleaning at all. Can you help to answer these questions?

How much do cleaners charge (outside London)?
How do I find one I can trust? (I have recently moved and don't really know anyone locally).
How long would it take to:
Hoover 2 bedrooms, living room/kitchen. Clean a small bathroom, kitchen surfaces/ sink etc. Plus dusting, maybe clean fridge or oven or something every so often.

Thanks for any advice!

OP posts:
eandz · 02/07/2008 11:11

hi sagitta,
although i'm in london i am an old pro at finding cleaning ladies that i'm happy with.

firstly know that it'll take a good cleaning lady 3-4 hours to do a 2 bed place depending on how messy it is/if you need packing or unpacking done/ironing might take an extra hour.

secondly it's going to be trial and error for a while. english speaking cleaning ladies can ask for £7 and upwards per hour. The non english speaking will charge £7 and downwards. a good place to look is on gumtree.

whenever a new one comes over make sure she has a list of things to do, show her around AND make it clear that it's not ok for her to play on her cellphone/take cigarette breaks in the bathroom or out a window when your not looking just to pass the time. and it's perfectly ok to keep an eye on her the entire time if you feel like you might not trust her.

nancy75 · 02/07/2008 11:13

how far outside london are you?

sagitta · 02/07/2008 11:48

Thanks eandz, that's helpful. It's more time/money than I thought...

I'm in Suffolk

OP posts:
sagitta · 02/07/2008 14:44

ipswich

OP posts:
bythepowerofgreyskull · 02/07/2008 14:52

Sagita