Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Welcome to Mumsnet's holiday forum. Discuss all international travel here, including both shorthaul and longhaul trips. Related topics: UK holidays & day trips, skiing, camping & campervans.

Holidays

Driving in Italy

11 replies

Poledra · 30/05/2022 17:41

I've driven in France for years and years, including round Paris but always in my own car (so, RH drive). This year, the kids and I are keen to go to Italy and maybe splash out on a villa with a pool etc. Problem is, I'm not keen on driving my own car all the way to Italy. Can anyone tell me how hard is it to drive in Italy in a hired car, sitting on the wrong side?? I'm a pretty confident driver but I've seen how some of those Italian taxi drivers drive...

Thanks for any help/advice!

OP posts:
Please
or

zafferana · 30/05/2022 19:01

It will be weird to start with OP if you've never done it before and if you hire a manual car you'll have to change gear with the other hand, which to start with means you keep grabbing the door handle, rather than the gear stick! Alternatively, you could hire an automatic, but if you're not used to driving one of those you might just find it easier to stick with a manual.

Otherwise, just take it slowly. Pause at each junction and make sure you know which side of the carriageway you'll be driving onto, think when you get to a roundabout which way you'll be going around it and remember that, as the driver, you will be sitting just to the left of the centre line in the middle of the road and not near the verge (as you would be in your own car if driving on the continent). After an hour or two it gets easier, but give yourself time to adjust and, if possible, avoid driving in or around cities, particularly Naples, and the Amalfi Coast.

Please
or

zafferana · 30/05/2022 19:02

Sorry, that should be you'll be sitting to the right of the centre line! See, even I'm confused Grin

Please
or

RetrainRetrain · 30/05/2022 19:18