Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Welcome to Mumsnet's holiday forum. Discuss all international travel here, including both shorthaul and longhaul trips. Related topics: UK holidays & day trips, skiing, camping & campervans.

Holidays

Greece thread - tips and advice

10 replies

monotype · 28/05/2022 19:32

Greece (and travel of sorts generally) newbie here. I thought we could post stuff here so that it's all in one place for reference.

Could someone tell me what's the best way to take money there? Withdraw cash out of ATM or pay by card at each place (credit or debit?)

Also, a lot of activities mention that "gratuity" is not included in the price. Is this a must (I don't want to be despised!), and if so, how much? Do you have to tip everyone??

OP posts:
Please
or

Flopisfatteningbingforchristmas · 29/05/2022 08:26

What kind of activities?

Martin Lewis Money saving website explains the best ways to pay for things on holiday. It all depends on who you bank with.

Please
or

Blueberrycreampie · 29/05/2022 08:28

In Greece now, take Euros if you can with a credit card as a back up. Plenty of ATMs around on our island but there is a fee I think. Cash is preferred but they won't refuse your money if paying by cc.

Please
or

monotype · 29/05/2022 11:42

Flopisfatteningbingforchristmas · 29/05/2022 08:26

What kind of activities?

Martin Lewis Money saving website explains the best ways to pay for things on holiday. It all depends on who you bank with.

Boat cruise says that gratuity isn't included in the price. Does that mean we have to pay them something at the end of the trip?

Thank you, will check out Martin Lewis!

OP posts:
Please
or

monotype · 29/05/2022 11:43

@Blueberrycreampie I see, I will take euros then. Thank you

OP posts:
Please
or

Blueberrycreampie · 29/05/2022 15:23