Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Difficulties in writing coherently

lookingformybrain · 04/04/2020 05:48

I'm a mature student at university. I had my DD in my first year and I've taken a few years out with the permission of my university due to extenuating circumstances (bereavement and severe depression).

I'm now back and have a few pieces of coursework to submit to finally complete my second year.

I'm currently trying to write an essay on a very straightforward subject. I understand what I need to include in order to write this essay, yet I'm finding it incredibly difficult to put my ideas in to writing in a way that answers the question directly.

It's making me so anxious that I'm thinking that maybe I'm incapable of writing all together Sad. I've read a few sample undergraduate essays online, but they don't seem to be up to a very good standard.

Another thing is that worries me is my lack of good references. I worry that they are irrelevant, although they show evidence of a phenomena occurring, and not up to date. I struggle finding good studies to back up my statements because I'm not great at researching papers, plus it's very time consuming.

Any help?

OP's posts:
Please
or

lookingformybrain · 04/04/2020 05:49

I've been up since 3am, so excuse the typos

OP's posts:
Please
or

Celeriacacaca · 05/04/2020 09:53

Your post is very coherent and clear so you CAN write! It sounds as if your self-confidence has take a bashing with all that you've been through.

Is there someone you can speak to about this ie tutor to give you some pointers on the writing and research?

I think once you get started your self belief will return. In the meantime, don't be too hard on yourself. Take care.

Please
or

Krong · 05/04/2020 10:04