Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

What do I need to become a primary school teacher?

bluenose1986 · 28/07/2017 16:50

Just that really.

I only have GSCE qualifications at the moment so I am fully aware of the need to gain extra qualifications I just don't know where to start and what are the best options?

Also any information on funding that is available would be really helpful.

OP's posts:
Please
or

deary · 28/07/2017 16:53

I did an OU degree and then a PGCE.
I don't have A levels.

Please
or

rollonthesummer · 28/07/2017 16:55

A levels and then a degree is the standard route. You can do a PGCE or scitt/Teach First type placement after your degree.

I'm sure there are other routes but you'll need a degree whatever you do if you want to become qualified.

Please
or

Changerofname987654321 · 28/07/2017 16:58

You can do a degree in primary education. You would need to do a levels or an access course first and have experience in a primary school.

I would suggest you spend two weeks at two separate primary schools first and ask the teachers about the amount of work they do outside the classroom before you start on this route.

Please
or

PotteringAlong · 28/07/2017 16:58

A degree (in a national curriculum subject would be helpful) and then a teaching qualification. Assuming you're not 16 and about to do alevels, you might need to do an access course first for your degree

Please
or

LadyMacnet · 28/07/2017 17:03

You will need a degree. I am not sure you will be able to do a B Ed - Bachelor of Education - though without A levels. A B Ed is a degree route chosen by some people who want to train as primary teachers. You will need GCSE pass grades in English, Maths and science.

Deary's route into teaching is worth investigating.

If you google the government website Get Into Teaching there is good information. It also includes some details about possible bursaries.