Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Advice needed please about our family lawn!

Aprilsun1 · 26/06/2022 18:35

We are trying to reclaim our back garden after 3 years of very little tlc. We are getting there, but the grass is looking awful. There's actually very little grass there, mostly moss and weeds. It's a family lawn, and has had particularly heavy footfall over wet months when removing a garage and erecting a shed and boundary fencing.

I did attempt to scarify the end section last year, and applied fertiliser as instructed... But its still the same this year.

Does anyone have experience of how to improve the quality of our lawn without resorting to having to returf? (Which to be honest we can't afford.) I don't mind a bit of hard work... But can it be done?

I'd be grateful of anyone's experience and any useful products.

Thanks.

OP's posts:
Please
or

Fitzfatsfeist · 26/06/2022 19:11

I'm no expert so hopefully you will get someone along soon who can better advise. But with the dry weather (depending where you are!) the grass isn't really growing much at the moment. Grass usually grows best in spring and autumn, so I would guess you would be best to work on it then. You can get product to kill the moss and weeds. Check the box for instructions. Raking the lawn will also help to remove the moss. Spiking the ground and then brushing sand into it will improve drainage and help with compaction which will help the grass grow. You can then overseed (apply grass seed over the existing grass). You can get different types of grass seed for hard wearing, shade and so on so take a look and pick what best fits your garden. Seeding is best done in spring or autumn, again follow the instructions on the box.

Please
or

Aprilsun1 · 26/06/2022 19:29