Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Please help me identify these wildflowers

PrincessFiorimonde · 23/06/2022 20:55

I'm a rotten photographer, but I hope someone can help me identify these wildflowers. The tall pink one is absolutely rampant in my garden. The one with tiny white flowers has only recently appeared. I don't mind wildflowers at all, especially if pollinators like them, but I'm curious about what these flowers are.

(By the way, I know that the plant to the left of the white-flowering plant is herb Robert/Robert's geranium. I tolerate it to some extent.)

Thanks in advance for any help.

Please help me identify these wildflowers Please help me identify these wildflowers Please help me identify these wildflowers
OP's posts:
Please
or

IcakethereforeIam · 23/06/2022 22:21

Not 100% sure but the pink one looks like a willowherb, possibly rosebay willowherb but there are lots of smaller species, it could be one of them. The other one could be enchanter's nightshade. I've only seen that growing wild in woodland but it's commo so could pop up in gardens.

Please
or

gingersplodgecat · 23/06/2022 22:53

Agree about the pink one being willowherb, get rid of it asap, they seed themselves everywhere and you will end up with thousands everywhere.

Please
or
Please
or

User79865765 · 24/06/2022 06:41

The first one (pink with smooth not furry leaves) is definitely rosebay willow herb.

take it out before it flowers (or if you have a wildflower area in your garden, relocate it)

Please
or

flyingwalrus · 24/06/2022 07:09

First one and middle one are different species of Epilobium willowherbs. Neither is Rosebay Willowherb. Last is Enchanter's Nightshade.

Please
or

MereDintofPandiculation · 24/06/2022 09:54

User79865765 · 24/06/2022 06:41

The first one (pink with smooth not furry leaves) is definitely rosebay willow herb.

take it out before it flowers (or if you have a wildflower area in your garden, relocate it)