Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

*PICS* Complete novice with a blank slate garden

plantingandpotting · 30/08/2020 14:20

I've moved into a new home with a really uninspiring green rectangle for a garden, and I just don't know where to begin.
Help from more experienced gardeners would be very appreciated!

Here's the shopping list:

• I'd hope to mostly screen the back houses (for their privacy as much as ours)
  • I'm cautious of planting any larger trees that would overhang into the neighbour's garden
  • On the left hand side I'd like to plant anything tall that doesn't need a trellis (so as to add some privacy)

Things to note...
    It's south facing.
    I'm inexperienced but very committed to maintenance.
    I have a toddler so need to keep a bit of space for play gear
    Happy to spend a fair amount to get there

I've added a few photos, one as it is now and a couple with my doodled ideas. The shape still feels boring and uninspired - I just don't know how to bring any flair.
*PICS* Complete novice with a blank slate garden *PICS* Complete novice with a blank slate garden *PICS* Complete novice with a blank slate garden
OP's posts:
Please
or

ScribblingMilly · 30/08/2020 14:34

You could ask on your local Facebook group for recommendations for gardeners who work to an hourly rate and are good with planning & planting schemes. I finally did this after years of faffing around not knowing what I was doing and am delighted with the result. And now I have a lovely garden that I maintain myself - having kept a list of everything planted and looking up exactly how to care for it all. I really wish I'd done it right at the start when I had a fab blank canvas like you do.

Please
or

sycamorecottage · 30/08/2020 14:35