Please or to access all these features

Food/recipes

For related content, visit our food content hub.

Please help (+) Looking for shop bought Halal mince pies?

33 replies

Yongala35 · 24/10/2026 17:45

Please recommend Halal compliant mince pies....friends are observant muslims. I understand Halal is more than vegetarian. Thank.....

OP posts:
OneSnugBear · 24/10/2026 17:48

Tesco mince pies are halal compliant according to Google.

AuroraBloom · 24/10/2026 17:49

Just look for vegetarian mince pies.

Yongala35 · 24/10/2026 17:56

A big thanks..... I'm confused about halal and vegetarian. Recommendation for mince pies for people who may never have enjoyed a mince pie. 2 children included. Friends know I am a fusspot.
I am making a sort of fuss because I want to reciprocate care taken of me when I call in...
Thanks

OP posts:
ViaRia01 · 24/10/2026 18:00

I am not sure if there is more to it than this but I think the two things likely found mince pies that would make them haram (not halal) is (1) pork products (eg fat in the mincemeat?) and (2) alcohol.

so I think that vegetarian would normally be ok as long as there is also no alcohol.

RemusLupinsBiggestGroupie · 24/10/2026 18:00

I think most will be vegetarian these days.

BillieWiper · 24/10/2026 18:04

(non) Halal is only for products with dead animals. So you just need to check the gelatine but otherwise it should naturally be halal?

titchy · 24/10/2026 18:06

ViaRia01 · 24/10/2026 18:00

I am not sure if there is more to it than this but I think the two things likely found mince pies that would make them haram (not halal) is (1) pork products (eg fat in the mincemeat?) and (2) alcohol.

so I think that vegetarian would normally be ok as long as there is also no alcohol.

The mincemeat in mince pies isn’t minced meat you know…. As long as there’s no alcohol in the ingredients they should be fine.

PurpleVine · 24/10/2026 18:07

i have a vegan friend - gregs mince pies are vegan and they are really nice. i buy them anyway because i like them.

Valerie267 · 24/10/2026 18:09

titchy · 24/10/2026 18:06

The mincemeat in mince pies isn’t minced meat you know…. As long as there’s no alcohol in the ingredients they should be fine.

Clueless - what about the suet in mincemeat? Thankfully it is usually - but not always - vegetarian. Do check for alcohol too. Expensive ones are more likely to have booze in them

ViaRia01 · 24/10/2026 18:09

@titchy i didn’t mention meat. I said pork fat….

oneoffname · 24/10/2026 18:09

titchy · 24/10/2026 18:06

The mincemeat in mince pies isn’t minced meat you know…. As long as there’s no alcohol in the ingredients they should be fine.

No, but traditional mincemeat recipes use suet which is an animal product. These days I would expect most companies to use a vegetable suet instead, but it's worth checking.

titchy · 24/10/2026 18:11

Do supermarket mince pies use suet? Surely vegetable fat - they’re all labelled vegetarian….

RemusLupinsBiggestGroupie · 24/10/2026 18:12

Good point re alcohol.

I love the Greggs mince pies!

Pearlstillsinging · 24/10/2026 18:13

titchy · 24/10/2026 18:06

The mincemeat in mince pies isn’t minced meat you know…. As long as there’s no alcohol in the ingredients they should be fine.

But there may be suet, which is an animal product. Vegetarian mince pies without alcohol should be fine for your Muslim friends.

Truinio · 24/10/2026 18:14

ViaRia01 · 24/10/2026 18:00

I am not sure if there is more to it than this but I think the two things likely found mince pies that would make them haram (not halal) is (1) pork products (eg fat in the mincemeat?) and (2) alcohol.

so I think that vegetarian would normally be ok as long as there is also no alcohol.

Suet isn’t pork fat, it’s lamb or beef. Which may or may not be halal depending on method slaughter.

Lifelover16 · 24/10/2026 18:14

BillieWiper · 24/10/2026 18:04

(non) Halal is only for products with dead animals. So you just need to check the gelatine but otherwise it should naturally be halal?

There is suet (animal fat) in mincemeat and sometimes in pastry, it’s almost impossible to check this is halal or not.
Better to get veggie ones (no meat at all) with no alcohol.

Truinio · 24/10/2026 18:15

@ViaRia01 although on reflection if the pastry is traditional it could be made with lard which is pork fat.

OffTheMap · 24/10/2026 18:19

titchy · 24/10/2026 18:06

The mincemeat in mince pies isn’t minced meat you know…. As long as there’s no alcohol in the ingredients they should be fine.

Vegetarian
No alcohol
Keep the box to show them

I would also offer some less 'trad Christmas' refreshments.

Yongala35 · 24/10/2026 18:21

Again, thanks.....
I will have fun and calories working my way through appropriate mince pies
Friends find me "comedy bonkers" in a good way. We appreciate "differences" and are bemused by extremists.
Friends will be putting up my Christmas tree. Again thanks....

OP posts:
Yongala35 · 24/10/2026 18:33

People are kind.
Chatting to neighbour who makes the most amazing mince pies based on an old family recipe. (100+ years' old Irish recipe)
Gives me 48 every winter season.
Neighbour is going to make a dose of halal-compliant mince pies. My neighbour said that she looks on it as a challenge.
No alcohol, no animal products.

OP posts:
CanYouComeUp · 24/10/2026 18:37

Or just make some and then you know what’s in them

ViaRia01 · 24/10/2026 18:37

@Truinio OK. I didn’t actually mention suet but, ok. I was hoping to help OP. Do you have any advice for OP or are you just focussed on nitpicking others’ responses.

MyArtfulGreySloth · 24/10/2026 18:44

titchy · 24/10/2026 18:06

The mincemeat in mince pies isn’t minced meat you know…. As long as there’s no alcohol in the ingredients they should be fine.

🤦‍♀️

Yongala35 · 24/10/2026 18:54

Many thanks for help..... friends will be bemused by my attempts to accommodate dietary concerns. I will show them this thread
My 84-year-old friend is experimenting with a 100+ year old recipe to respect friends' preferences.

OP posts:
SethAndReubenTooSendGaloshes · 24/10/2026 18:57

ViaRia01 · 24/10/2026 18:00

I am not sure if there is more to it than this but I think the two things likely found mince pies that would make them haram (not halal) is (1) pork products (eg fat in the mincemeat?) and (2) alcohol.

so I think that vegetarian would normally be ok as long as there is also no alcohol.

It's not just pork, it's any animal products.

OP very few mince pies will contain animal products or alcohol.