Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

LD Nursing and Abortion legislation.

27 replies

Meili04 · 09/10/2022 06:31

I'm a LD professional , I thoroughly love my job and advocating for my patients. I'm facing a dilemma at the moment , many of my colleagues are backing banning abortion after 24 weeks for DS. I absolutely support a woman's choice to choose to be a parent , the support systems in place for parents of children with LD is shocking. The Downs syndrome association tend to only present the best case scenarios not doubly incontinent with extreme behavioural challenges.
I feel I cannot comment on this without being labelled as heartless. I think the best course of action would be improving support systems for disabled children and adults without taking rights away from women.

Do any MNers have any words of wisdom? Pro choice is very dear to me.

OP posts:
Please
or

Zerogravity · 09/10/2022 06:33

I'm not sure what you're asking. Are you being pressured to support a ban? You are allowed to be pro choice.

Please
or

picklemewalnuts · 09/10/2022 07:17

It's another purity spiral- one of those situations where people who don't capitulate are painted as monsters.

If it's how to respond to campaigners that you're asking, I'd stick with
'oh it's so complicated! I think women need to make their own choices!'

It's not wrong to say babies with disabilities deserve a chance, and it's not wrong to say women should have a choice.

Please
or

DifficultBloodyWoman · 22/10/2022 00:46

It isn’t about DS or other learning disabilities.

It is about a woman’s right to choose. Women must have the right to make the decision to continue or terminate a pregnancy for any reason whatsoever. Women should be trusted to make the best decision they can for themselves, for their families, and for their children.