Please
or
to access all these features

Feminism: chat

Book - an introduction to feminism

8 replies

LittleNinaNanar · 06/12/2021 00:11

Hello

I have a Godchild who is turning 21. I think she is probably in a controlling relationship (cut her friends off, living with him in his mother's who appears to also be quite controlling. Stopped all her activities that she loved)

I'm hoping she will somehow get herself out of this situation eventually. She and her parents are just about in communication with her. But one worded texts every few weeks or so is all that they are getting, if that. Can be normal enough at that age. She has been with him since she was a young teen.

In the meantime I would really like to get her a first book that may ease her in to 4th wave feminist thinking. As I am fairly new to thinking this way (to my shame) I don't know where to start. Obviously don't want to freak her out and put her off.....any suggestions?

Thanks for taking the time to read.

OP posts:

CheeseMmmm · 06/12/2021 02:22

God that sounds awful.
Is she near? I mean I don't know what to suggest. You must be close to parents? Are they v worried thinking about what to do? Can you let them know worried etc?

I know that's not what you posted about but it's got to be so worrying.

In her position i think that a book about feminism is not a great choice imo.

What will controlling DH make of it? Potentially he will notice and not like at all. Just seems a potential risk.

If I was in her position i mean. It sounds like a very strong hint really. Maybe even might feel as pointing out she's... Failing or something. Sounds horrible but a book about women fighting for their rights etc may be fine of course but chance may not go down well.

Is she in a position to take time reading books esp ones about women's rights?

Has she shown a definite interest in feminism? You say you want to ease her in do you know she is actually interested?

I mean that's my thoughts.