My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

On the Mumsnet Donor Conception forum, you can discuss sperm and egg donation with people in the same situation.

Donor conception

Advice on how to move forward

7 replies

ViewFromAfar · 15/09/2023 20:15

Hi, I am aged 35 in a same sex relationship. Health-wise, I have an underactive thyroid and my fertility mot went well, though I was borderline PCOS on one ovary.

I have been testing my ovulation surges for a few months and haven't noticed an issue.

I have had one IUI so far which failed. I was due to have another this month but there did not seem to be a dominant follicle. The clinic wasn't too worried about it being it being an anovulatory cycle.

Due to the above, I have asked for a review with the clinic. Their initial advice was have 3 natural IUI's and then review.

To me, the success rates seem low with IUI. I am considering looking at IVF. I understand it may seem extreme when my next IUI maybe successful, but there is also a significant chance it would not work.

We are paying privately and to complicate things, I am CMV negative which restricts my donor options now.. we have one straw left of this particular donor. The clinic does not like taking the risk of using a positive donor.

Does anyone have any advice on what they would do? Or if you have been in a similar situation? I am conscious of my age as well.

OP posts:
Persipan · 16/09/2023 06:10

I personally skipped IUI altogether and went straight to IVF, so I can absolutely see your thinking and it doesn't seem extreme to me at all. There are various reasons why you might choose to - higher odds of success, more insight into what's actually happening at each stage of the process (how many eggs, did they fertilise, did they become blastocysts, and so on), and the possibility of siblings later on if you have frozen embryos. Seems perfectly reasonable to me.

MsFrost · 24/09/2023 06:43