Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

anyone about to start writing a non fiction book?

vivariumvivariumsvivaria · 29/12/2020 16:50

I've been faffing about with a book for about 5 years...it's time to get on with it.

I have two large boxes of notes and a LOT of saved images and links in my computer - none of which are in any order. I also have a lot of books with relevant parts in it and I'd like to interview those authors in my book.

I'm an expert in my field, I'm a good communicator, I have a great reputation, all the relevant qualifications and experience, contacts and am good on tv/radio/press. I have been approached by 2 separate publishers and I have an agent.

I am also totally stage struck incase my book turns out to be rubbish and I'll get found out as the imposter that we all know I am...

Anyone in the same boat? Want to do some mutual encouragement?

OP's posts:
Please
or

FlamedToACrisp · 29/12/2020 22:16

Not in the same boat (if only!), but I wish you lots of luck with it.

I would also like to say, before you start writing, think carefully about your strategy. In particular, ensure you're not trying to write one massive encyclopedic book. These tend to be expensive to buy and you need to hold something back for the next book!

I'd suggest it would be better to split it into 3 shorter books, and plan the chapter layouts for all of them together so you don't overlap too much.

Also - probably best to email those links and images to yourself or save onto a memory chip in case of computer probs.

Congratulations! If you have an agent already, you must be doing something right!

Please
or

vivariumvivariumsvivaria · 30/12/2020 10:54

Thanks for that - you are right, the reason it's taking so long is because I get bogged down with the actual book proposal.

There is so much to say!

I'll back up the mac, I'm lazy about that. Very lazy. Foolish.