My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Join in for children's book recommendations.

Children's books

Books to read to a group of babies

10 replies

Mishy1234 · 22/01/2011 08:18

I'm volunteering to facilitate a playgroup for mums and children up to 2 years. The group will be no larger than 15 (mums with their babies) and I imagine that the majority will be under 1.

Can anyone recommend suitable books to be read to such a group. The idea is to open with a song and then close with story. I have no experience of reading to a group of children, so any advice would also be appreciated.

Just to clarify, this is entirely voluntary so no money involved apart from to pay for the hire of the room and drinks/biscuits.

OP posts:
purepurple · 22/01/2011 08:23

I would be inclined to just stick with the songs. It is really difficult to get children as young as this to sit down, let alone listen to a story.

Mishy1234 · 22/01/2011 08:49

I was wondering about that purplepurple. The thing is that I'm not particularly good at that kind of thing! Any suggestions for songs? I thought 'Wind the Bobbin Up' might be a good one?

OP posts:
purepurple · 22/01/2011 08:56

Wind the bobbin up is a good one
You need songs that have actions so that it is more visual, to hold their attention.
Some I sing at work
Twinkle Twinkle Little Star
Miss Polly had a Dolly
Wheels on the bus
If you're happy and you know it
I had a little turtle
I would suggest that you invest in a couple of cds and just sing along to the songs till you get your confidence. Some of the tumble tots or sticky kids cds are really good for just this situation.
Good luck
I used to run mothers and toddlers and playgroups many moons ago and found that the big group get-together at the end was just so that we could get the tidying up done without it eating into our time.

Normantebbit · 22/01/2011 09:11