My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Discuss everything related to paid childcare here, including childminders, nannies, nurseries and au pairs.

Childcare

CM-problems with part time mindees fees

16 replies

mazzed42 · 07/08/2006 14:17

Hi, I am new to this so bear with me! I am a childminder and have a child that comes odd hours, weekdays. At the moment I charge her by the hour but I never really know what days or times he is coming as it changes every week. Sometimes he will come twice in one day at different times. Would you charge more for this type of care?, or for the whole day when he comes?I have to be very flexible which I don't mind but it can be awkward when i cant plan things as I never know when he will be there.

OP posts:
Katymac · 07/08/2006 14:19

So basically he is taking a F/T space for a few (?) hours?

What would happen if you got offered a F/T child?

proudofmyboobs · 07/08/2006 14:28

My son is a p/t mindee too. I am at Uni and he goes to his childminders 3 days a week for a few hours a day. Some weeks this changes also. I have told her if she gets a fulltime child to go ahead and I'd manage something but she said no, the hours I have suit her as she is flexible and she loves ds! lol

But I can see that it would be awkward for you not knowing what actual hours you are needed for. How does she manage to bring him to you twice in one day? If it were me I'd leave him there for a whole day!

Katymac · 07/08/2006 14:30

That's lovely Proudof myboobs - it's great when the minder & mum have such a good realtionship (it's not all that common) i treasure my real friend ships

mazzed42 · 07/08/2006 15:04

Well, Katymac, this is the problem if I get offered a f/t child what do I do! I get on well with his mum and she always pays me ok.

Proudofmyboobs- sometimes he will come in the morning for an hour and then again in afternoon for perhaps 2 hours!

OP posts:
mazzed42 · 07/08/2006 15:06