Threads

See more results

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Mumsnet does not check the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you're worried about the health of your chickens, please speak to a vet or qualified professional.

The new Omlet Go, anyone got one, seen one in action ? Are they are good as they look ?

SausageRocket · 15/11/2009 15:30

Hi all

I'm new to this bit of MN. I am seriously considering getting a pair of hens in spring next year and I have been looking at the Omlet site, initially with a view to buying an Eglu.

I noticed that they have brought out a new house called the 'Go' which looks to be more minimalist in design and perhaps a little more spacious, due to the less fussy design (and suprisingly, a little cheaper).

I am completely new to chicken keeping personally but my best mate has 5 girls (in a Cube) and my mum has 6 (in a brick built former piggery). Mate recommended Eglu as she started with her girls in a wooden hen house but had a real problem with recurring redmite infestations despite constant maintenance with redmite powder etc. They were impossible to get rid of long term as they (mites) laid in the wood and it was impposible to kill the eggs, whereas the cube has nowhere for the little beggars to hide so it is much easier to disinfect and keep on top of any creepy crawlies that may decide to take up residence. Plus you don't get the issue of the wood soaking up the urine and rain and rotting.

What are the downsides of the Omlet designs over the traditional wooden chicken houses ?

Have you got a Go ? Would you recommend it ?

(I decided to wait until Spring next year to get the hens because I want them to be tame and used to being handled, obviously when the weather is drier and better we will be more inclined to be out there with them more.)

OP's posts:
Please
or

SausageRocket · 15/11/2009 17:47

any chook chicks around ?

OP's posts:
Please
or

Madsometimes · 16/11/2009 12:35