My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Meet others keeping chickens on our Mumsnet Chicken forum.

Chicken keepers

Right, i can get some chickens (novice here), now what?

6 replies

GodzillasBumcheek · 30/06/2008 21:40

DH thinks he can build a 'box for them to sleep in', and a wire pen for them to run around. But he only intends them to be in it at night...is this sane? Cats do get into our garden. Aren't they likely to end up as moggy dinner?

OP posts:
GodzillasBumcheek · 30/06/2008 22:37

And also, if i manage to convince him to make a proper living space (i'd still like to know what is required), what do they eat?

OP posts:
TheDuchessOfNorksBride · 30/06/2008 23:51

To eat: Layers pellets and/or mixed corn. Oyster shell (for the calcium, they need it for forming egg shells). Grit to help grind their food up. A food 'hopper' and something for fresh water, hens drink quite a lot. All this is available from pet shops/country stores/feed merchants or online. If you keep the food in a metal or plastic dustbin, it'll stop rats/mice etc eating it. Chickens also like & need greens so either bung them some grass or supply them with broccoli/cabbage/whatever.

They'll need straw for their nest boxes (where they lay their eggs) and newspaper/sand/woodshavings on the floor of their house. They need cleaning out about once a week but it doesn't take long. I'd get your DH to look at the shape of hen houses on an online store (try looking at flytesofancy or P&T Poultry) so he knows what to build.