My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Meet others keeping chickens on our Mumsnet Chicken forum.

Chicken keepers

Thinking about keeping chickens

11 replies

pigsinmud · 19/08/2012 12:17

That's it really! Looking after some ducks and chickens at the moment - duck eggs just hatched. Dc are loving it. I thought about it a while ago and dismissed the idea, but now coming back round to it.

Can anyone recommend a good book so I can read up about chicken keeping? Which sort of coop - Eglu or wooden coop? The pictures of coops and runs don't look that big - do they stay in the run the whole time? Any advice really!

OP posts:
Pixel · 19/08/2012 21:06

I'm a chicken newbie too, although I kept ducks for years growing up, and I've got this book which I've found to be nice and simple and not too scary. The day after I got my chooks I picked up a chicken keeping magazine at the farm shop and before I was halfway through it I was a nervous wreck from reading all the adverts for things that are apparently essential if I don't want my chickens to die in 30 seconds flat. Spent a sleepless night wondering if I'd made a terrible mistake! So don't do that Grin.
Actually, had them a few months now and they are great, not as dirty as ducks, very friendly, they eat all the leftovers and the eggs are lovely! Mine do have a permanent run as we have a lot of foxes around, but I'm thinking of getting a smaller moveable run so they can come out and pick at the lawn occasionally for a treat.

pigsinmud · 19/08/2012 23:14

Thanks Pixel. I'll give that book a go.

Dh came with us this evening to put chickens away and it put him right off! He is worried about the smell and general mess. We don't have a huge garden - unlike the chickens we are looking after, but they also have 9 whereas i'm thinking of 3.

We collected 7 eggs - dds loved that. 6 brown and 1 white.

OP posts:
bramblina · 19/08/2012 23:21