My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Meet others keeping chickens on our Mumsnet Chicken forum.

Chicken keepers

"impulse" silkies buy?

12 replies

mybabyweightiseightyearsold · 18/04/2012 10:27

I've been dribbling over chickens for two years. Have read and researched, not any experience, but hubbie was raised with chooks.

Middley kid has chronic asthma and is desperate for a pet. Anything furry and in the house is out.

Silkie chooks are friendly, small, not as scratchy as other types and broody. Not great at laying. cute as a button.

There are three silkie hens for sale on gumtree...

Blokie has said "get hens if you want" though, he's underwhelmed at the prospect, having many memories of slipping on chook poop and being attacked by cockerels as a kid.

Seller says she's got a rat problem needing sorted, thus reason for sale.

Silkies are hard to come by where we are.

Chooks are laying, been broody, three different colours. I have three kids...

Anyone with experience of buying "second hand" chickens - or of silkies as pets?

OP posts:
MissBeehivingUnderTheMistletoe · 19/04/2012 17:22

I breed and show exhibition silkies. They are friendly and docile, don't fly and IME aren't as scratchy. They go broody occasionally but I don't think they're worse than any other breed. You hear people say that they shouldn't get wet but that's nonsense. They need to be treated for mites and worms the same as any other breed.

mybabyweightiseightyearsold · 19/04/2012 18:01

That's really good to hear, Miss!

Those chooks were re-homed, if you're not fast, you're last.

Don't suppose you are in Scotland or the north of England? Or know someone who is?

I'm looking at getting one of these:

www.solwayrecycling.co.uk/pet-and-equestian-products/hen-coop-mini