My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Meet others keeping chickens on our Mumsnet Chicken forum.

Chicken keepers

Please help me decide if I have the time and skill to keep chickens - long sorry!

9 replies

TeddyBare · 06/11/2010 17:09

I really like the sound of chicken keeping but I have no experience of looking after them. I've been reading downthelane.net over the last few days, and I have a few questions.

Do rescued battery chickens need expert carers? Are any breeds more suitable for beginners and the Welsh climate (perhaps ducks?!)than others? Does 6 sound like a reasonable number to keep together for a beginner?

I'd like to have a permanent run with the coop inside it. The area I'm imagining a chicken run in is about 10m by 4.5m with a few small fruit trees, a tree stump and one fairly large Christmas tree. Clearly we can't put a roof on this area - would it be better to use a smaller area without trees and have a roof? If so, how much space do 6 chickens need? The area is reasonably well drained and protected but when it rains very hard it gets muddy. What do you recommend to make a hard surfaced area for them? Is it worth building a little roofed area to protect them from rain or do they prefer to stay inside if it's raining heavily?

One side of the little area is fenced with a brick wall and the other sides are currently unfenced. For the rest of the fencing I'm planning on using post-and-wire and sink it underground too. Do you also use railway sleepers around the edges to discourage foxes digging under? How do you make the gate bit secure?

We would like to build the coop ourselves. Do you have any tips for features which are essential or might be useful? With the brick wall and the trees, quite a bit of the run will be in the shade at some times of day. Does this mean I will need to adapt the coop in any way to make sure they're warm enough?