Threads

Topics

Usernames

Mumsnet Logo
Please
or
to access all these features

Get updates on how your baby develops, your body changes, and what you can expect during each week of your pregnancy by signing up to the Mumsnet Pregnancy Newsletters.

Need help find the right name for your newborn? Try our baby name generator.

Opinion
60

kayleighd · 26/11/2019 00:48

Hi all,

We are soon to welcome our baby girl and are both pretty fixed on the name Aubree. However my in-laws hate it and say it's a mans name. I am aware that it was popular in the 1920s or earlier for a man being spelt Aubrey but I feel that it sounds feminine and with our spelling adds to that. Plus Shirley and Beverley were once men's names!

I am generally a people pleaser and now am casting doubt on my choice, what are your thoughts on the name pls?

OP's posts:
Please
or
to access all these features

Krisskrosskiss · 26/11/2019 00:51

If you love it then go with it! Whatever name you choose someone will hate it so just go with the name you love the most!
I named my son Ambrose and my nan said 'who on earth would name a boy that!!?' When she was told haha

Please
or
to access all these features

TrixieFranklin · 26/11/2019 01:38

There's another thread on 'Aubrey' you may wish to have a look at..

Please
or
to access all these features

TrixieFranklin · 26/11/2019 01:38

Please
or
to access all these features

Derbee · 26/11/2019 02:24

I think Aubree is very sweet. People will always hate the name you choose. And others will love it. The only people’s opinions who matter are yours and your partners

Please
or
to access all these features

diddlediddle · 26/11/2019 02:33

Aubrey is a boys name. Aubree is either horrendously chavvy or horrendously low rent American. Sorry, but someone had to say it!

Audrey is classy. Aubree is not. Sure, if you like it, choose it, but don't be under any illusions as to what the name will signal to other people.

Please
or
to access all these features

Thetimetravelerswife · 26/11/2019 07:28

Sorry I completely agree with diddlediddle.

I know it’s difficult to gain clear thinking especially when you hear opinions from in-laws because they are of a different generation from us. But I have to say I agree with them, and I’m in my 20s.

I see it as an old mans name. It’s the equivalent of naming your daughter Reginald or something.

Also agree that the “EE” ending is very downmarket as well, and makes it look like you can’t spell.

I would personally pick another name, there’s lots of other names that have that “Aubree" feel.

Eg amber, Aurora, Ember, Ava, Audrey,



Audrey is sooooo much nicer than aubree!

Please
or
to access all these features

Leopardprintboots · 26/11/2019 07:42

The “EE” ending isn’t cute, it’s awful. I know this is a terrible thought process but if I saw the name written down I’d immediately assume “chav”

Please
or
to access all these features

teabagleftin · 26/11/2019 07:51

Aubrey is a Boys name. Aubree is a ‘ ‘yoonique’ spelling of a boy’s name.

Please
or
to access all these features

EmpressLesbianInChair · 26/11/2019 07:52

Cute / sweet is only a good thing while a child is very young anyway. Then it becomes a bad thing, quite rapidly.

Please
or
to access all these features

AlphaJura · 26/11/2019 08:27

Must admit I always think of Aubrey as a man's name 🤷🏼‍♀️. Maybe go for Audrey? If you like that sort of name. It's not personally my cup of tea either but people seem to like it better. But then again, sometimes it's best not to discuss names with family etc because someone will always have an opinion, whatever you pick and try and put you off. When the baby is here, people are less likely to be rude and they do get used to the names eventually.

Please
or
to access all these features

FrancisCrawford · 26/11/2019 08:30

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Please
or
to access all these features

festivemum · 26/11/2019 08:30

I love it, and it would of been my baby's name if it was a girl!

Please
or
to access all these features

MindyStClaire · 26/11/2019 08:44

I associate Aubrey mainly as a girl's name now (Aubrey Plaza the actress is probably why). But I don't like the ee spelling, just use Aubrey.

Please
or
to access all these features

kjr2017 · 26/11/2019 08:45

Thanks all,

I think once baby is here we will decide but nothing else grabs me but this at the moment. In laws nephew was called Santiago a few years ago (santi for short) and father in law calls him Santa! The name has grown on the rest of us.

Please
or
to access all these features

8Iris8 · 26/11/2019 09:12

I think of an Aubrey as being a very posh old man’s name. I’m afraid I agree with the pp - Aubree will just make people throughout her life think that her parents couldn’t spell, and unfortunately that might make people have negative value judgements towards her.

Please
or
to access all these features

Omashu · 26/11/2019 09:28

I love it OP! It’s be slowly climbing the name charts for a few years now. I know both a male and female Aubrey. I think Aubree is a lovely spelling.

Also Santiago is a very cool name 😁

Please
or
to access all these features

Hepsibar · 26/11/2019 10:17

Have to say not keen. I guess it will be shortened to Bree which sounds like cheese (I know spelling different) or that town in Lord of the Rings where the hobbits are nearly murdered. Think it could be a name ripe for banter ... Awful Aubree, smells of pee etc etc

However there are plenty of names that other people wont like and I am sure she will be a lovely little poppet whatever name given. If you like names beginning with "A" have you thought of:

Audrey (v similar in sound but to me lovelier than Aubree)
Annabel
Anna
Anastasia
Alexandria
Aminta
Arabella

Please
or
to access all these features

G3m81 · 26/11/2019 11:06

I love this name! I think it's more popular in America but it's still a lovely name. Someone is always going to hate whatever you choose so go with what you are happy with Smile

Please
or
to access all these features

misspiggy19 · 26/11/2019 11:11

The “EE” ending isn’t cute, it’s awful. I know this is a terrible thought process but if I saw the name written down I’d immediately assume “chav”

^My first thought too.

Please
or
to access all these features

user1493494961 · 26/11/2019 11:46

Not keen on Aubrey anyway (boy or girl) but agree with pp, the 'ee' ending is particularly awful.

Please
or
to access all these features

Moongirl10 · 26/11/2019 11:53

Aubrey is Drake’s real name so it’s not just popular from the 1920’s. It is a male name to me. I’m not too keen on the ‘ee’ at the end, it’s a bit chavvy sorry.

Please
or
to access all these features

Twickerhun · 26/11/2019 12:01

The transitional name is lovely. Your Unique spelling is terrible

Please
or
to access all these features

VenusClapTrap · 26/11/2019 13:36

Aubrey is a lovely name for a boy.

Aubree just looks like you can’t spell.

Please
or
to access all these features

Confusedbeetle · 26/11/2019 13:41

Always consider what the children in the playground will say

Please
or
to access all these features

20viona · 26/11/2019 13:42

I love it for a girl with your spelling! Go with whatever you want. Classic mistake telling people though.

Please
or
to access all these features
Please create an account

To comment on this thread you need to create a Mumsnet account.