Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

To drop out of university?

7 replies

dropoutornot · 22/01/2024 10:57

I'm currently in my first year on an NHS course after deciding to retrain. I'm questioning whether I picked the right course. I was enjoying it last term, but since coming back from the Christmas break I've felt so disinterested and unmotivated in it which is not like me. I've been able to do my assignments and revise for exams, but have no motivation for the day-to-day of it.

My mental health is really low too, and I'm currently trying to pluck up the courage to go to the GP as I'm pretty sure I'm autistic or have ADHD as I seem to struggle with life a lot more than everyone else, and it seems like more than depression and anxiety. I find myself feeling tearful and crying for no reason, and can't work out what's wrong with me.

I have 3 seminars tomorrow to prepare for. I was due to start my placement later this week with a partner, but I've now found out that my partner has dropped out so I'll be going to the placement alone and that seems so daunting. Everyone else in my year group is paired up for it.

I just don't think it's for me but I have no idea what else I'll do. I have a habit of getting overwhelmed in jobs/university courses and blaming it on the situation rather than myself.

OP posts:
Sunflower8848 · 22/01/2024 10:59

If it’s any help when I was in this situation I found quitting got rid of the anxiety, but I just swapped it for feelings of guilt and “what ifs”. If I were you I would complete what you started…it will be a good experience learning resilience.

bibliomania · 22/01/2024 11:06

Most people feel demotivated in January. Try and ride it out. Talk to the university's student wellbeing team or a tutor. If someone genuinely feels they're on the wrong course, I would support leaving, but as you were enjoying it before, that may not be the problem.

AlaskaThunderfuckHiiiiiiiii · 22/01/2024 11:10