My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

IMDB reviews 600 words minimum. REALLY?

11 replies

justasking111 · 17/01/2024 13:24

What the hell is Amazon's point in now insisting on a 600 word review on IMDB. They don't insist on this if I buy Amazon batteries, mops, toys.

I just want to say something but 600 bloody words. Bezos has taken his eyes off the ball.

OP posts:

Am I being unreasonable?

10 votes. Final results.

POLL
You are being unreasonable
80%
You are NOT being unreasonable
20%
KrisAkabusi · 17/01/2024 13:34

It's 600 characters, not words.

https://help.imdb.com/article/contribution/contribution-information/user-review-guidelines/GABTWSNLDNFLPRRH#

"The minimum length for reviews is 600 characters to ensure the most value to our users. Reviews which are padded with junk text will be discarded."

IMDb | Help

https://help.imdb.com/article/contribution/contribution-information/user-review-guidelines/GABTWSNLDNFLPRRH#

LlynTegid · 17/01/2024 13:39

Seems a sensible move to me. Though there are some films where it would be a struggle- the awful film I saw many years ago about adult learning in west Yorkshire would be one. Presumably the Mrs Brown's Boys film if you had the misfortune to waste part of your life seeing it would require a thesaurus to use all the words to describe how bad it is.

Gymnopedie · 17/01/2024 13:40

Yeah, 600 characters makes much more sense but it's to stop someone just writing a review that only says 'Rubbish'. You have to give at least some justification and explanation.

Edited to add - the guidelines suggest that you don't have to leave a review, only that if you do it should be meaningful. Is that the case?

ManateeFair · 17/01/2024 14:20

It's 600 characters, not words. 600 characters is nearer 100 words, which is not at all unreasonable.

justasking111 · 18/01/2024 15:12

600 characters is way too much. It never used to be this rule. When you just want to say xyz and then are stuck with padding. Amazon who own IMDB don't make this rule

OP posts:
Doppelgangers · 18/01/2024 15:16

600 characters is not exactly a long review. If you don't like it then you don't have to leave a review but I can see why they brought in a minimum amount. Reviews that are just a handful of words are pretty pointless and it's not exactly difficult to reach 600 characters once you've given your opinion and then backed it up with why you came to that conclusion.

Testina · 18/01/2024 16:26

justasking111 · 18/01/2024 15:12

600 characters is way too much. It never used to be this rule. When you just want to say xyz and then are stuck with padding. Amazon who own IMDB don't make this rule

But your short OP was about 250!
If you can’t be arsed to write just over double that on a film - then I wouldn’t really care about your opinion.
I think it’s a great rule.

justasking111 · 18/01/2024 16:28

I'm assuming no-one here understands précis

OP posts:
Ghentsummer · 18/01/2024 16:33

justasking111 · 18/01/2024 16:28

I'm assuming no-one here understands précis

I understand you got it wrong between words and characters and you are too embarrassed to admit it.

Wheresthefibre · 18/01/2024 16:36

Ghentsummer · 18/01/2024 16:33

I understand you got it wrong between words and characters and you are too embarrassed to admit it.

This

Testina · 18/01/2024 16:45

justasking111 · 18/01/2024 16:28

I'm assuming no-one here understands précis

No, we’re all stoopid.

You know that to intelligent people who are actually interested in film reviews, 600 characters is the précis?

There are other sites if your brain or attention span can’t cope with more than a visual of stars out 5 🤷🏻‍♀️

Please create an account

To comment on this thread you need to create a Mumsnet account.