Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

To want to be a social worker?

27 replies

Mum233 · 18/10/2022 20:43

I am currently in a leadership role in a secondary school and a safeguarding lead. The next step career wise is becoming a Headteacher. The nearer I get to that, the more I realise this is not what I want and what I would actually like us to pursue a career where safeguarding is a huge part of the role. This is an element of my job that I really love and seem to do well at.
This has led to me wanting to retrain as a social worker.
Is anyone a social worker that could tell me honestly what it’s like? Is it possible to juggle this job with having children? Be honest!
Thank you!

OP posts:

Am I being unreasonable?

14 votes. Final results.

POLL
You are being unreasonable
64%
You are NOT being unreasonable
36%
rumred · 18/10/2022 20:54

I was a social worker /manager in safeguarding /child protection for many years. It is soul destroying for lots of reasons. In your shoes I'd meet with practicing social workers /managers and listen to their accounts. Teachers come in for a lot of flack but social workers are hated. It's a no win job often. And the IT systems tend to be shit. And funding is rarely adequate.... I could go on.
However, you may be suited to it and have good resilience and thick skin so I wouldn't want to dissuade you. Just make sure you hear what practitioners have to say before you make a decision. Re work life balance, the mental and emotional pressures seep into your life. There can often be physical overtime but all teams are different.
And good luck with whatever you decide

Newpuppymummy · 18/10/2022 20:56

Look at step up to social work

BeanieTeen · 18/10/2022 20:59