My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

AIBU to book an 80s weekend at Butlins for next year?

29 replies

Summerslam · 14/09/2022 17:38

DH and I used to go to a lot of nostalgia festivals but we are getting too old and knackered and personally, the thought of portaloos makes me feel nauseous.

I've just seen an advert for a 3 night break at Butlins in Skegness, featuring several 80's acts. It's about the same price as a festival, but you get a room with a bathroom, not a leaky tent, plus you can add dining and there's various stuff going on there too, not just music - swimming, bowling etc

However, I have never been to Butlins and I've never done one of these weekends before. Is it worth the money? Is it imperative to wear fancy dress?
Or should we just resign ourselves to being over the hill and stick to watching YouTube?

OP posts:
SunshineLollipopsAndRainbows · 14/09/2022 17:45

I haven’t been but know people that have & it was an absolute blast apparently! Go for it OP!

Cheeseandlobster · 14/09/2022 17:51

Ooh yes they are so much fun!! Definitely do it!

TheSoapyFrog · 14/09/2022 17:53

If I could someone to look after the kids for that long, I'd definitely go. I know a few people who go every year and have an absolute blast.

Sparklingbrook · 14/09/2022 17:55

I used to work with someone who went every year and said it was brilliant! Go for it, what's the worst that could happen?

JaneJeffer · 14/09/2022 17:59

Sounds great!

Reggiebo · 14/09/2022 18:00

Absolutely fabulous. Lots of acts on. Fancy dress if you want or not ..up to you. Plenty of fun. Definitely get a dinning plan. Premium is best. All you can eat. If there are just 2 then a room is fine.

Reggiebo · 14/09/2022 18:04

Join the Butlins big weekend FB groups. Lots of info and pics

Ahwig · 14/09/2022 18:07