Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

To ask for a half day off work

9 replies

prettypurpledaisy · 09/10/2007 20:27

I work in a school as an lsa, I appreciate that I get 12 weeks holiday per year, but my daughter has qualified for a dance competition in Blackpool, which is at least 6 hours drive away, and would like to leave school at 12. I have been honest and not had a sickie and am now being made to feel really bad for asking.
In addition I am going to Paris with the year 11s, leaving at 4am on Thursday returning at 9.30pm on Saturday without overtime so feel I am owed some time.
So AIBU?

OP posts:

tribpot · 09/10/2007 20:29

Doesn't sound unreasonable to me, but I don't work in a school. How would they cover your half day? This may be a naive question but why don't you get paid overtime for that kind of trip? Is it because you have the 'joy' of an 'all expenses paid' trip to Paris where you 'only' have to look after the year 11s?

prettypurpledaisy · 09/10/2007 20:36

My Friday afternoon lessons would be left without lsa support which is a problem for the statemented children but if that was an issue I could find cover. As for the trip overtime is never paid we just do it and I don't mind I have a free trip to Paris and am looking forward to it, but there seems to be no give and take.

OP posts:

Donk · 09/10/2007 20:55

Its a school. Unless you are lucky with your Head, there is no give and take.......
I know one head who tried to stop someone taking a day of to go to their own wedding (until the Union pointed out that that is specifically allowed for in terms and conditions of employment)
'Overtime' does not exist in schools. You do the hours needed to do the job....

hana · 09/10/2007 21:03

you have nothign to lose by aasking - surely you'd have an understanding head

prettypurpledaisy · 09/10/2007 21:07