Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

Unprofessional conduct

6 replies

daffodilbrain · 27/11/2019 23:24

I was in a senior meeting at work today and a colleague was having a go at me for something not being completed by my team (I'm new in the role) he likes the sound of his own voice and to tell the rest of us what should be happening in the business etc that I can handle.....anyway whilst we were discussing the issue another colleague on teleconference IM'd him and said ' go on continue to twist the knife)' I know this because I the first chap had his laptop on so he could project on the screen to the room. Chap who IM's didn't realise this. AIBU to think this is unacceptable behaviour in a meeting? Do you think I should put it down to banter and forget about it. At the time
I responded by telling teleconf man ' to get off his soapbox' now I'm wondering if they are trying to undermine me? What do you think?

OP posts:
Streamside · 27/11/2019 23:54

I wouldn't ignore it, store it as ammunition for future use at the very least.I'd at least email both of them saying you noticed and would they like to explain what it meant.

HundredMilesAnHour · 28/11/2019 00:10

said ' go on continue to twist the knife'

Was this meant to encourage him or was it mean to stop him? It's not clear if this is actually a sarcastic putdown of your colleague being mean to you or if it was encouraging him? I actually would have assumed it was a putdown.

To be honest, your colleague sounds like a typical man who is jockeying for position, especially if you're new and could be perceived as a rival. Still irritating but if you're senior I'd expect you to be able to take this in your stride and make short shrift of anyone doing this. I don't think telling him to get off his "soapbox" is the best way to do it as that doesn't sound massively professional and it's rather judgemental. Just shut the conversation down and stay on the meeting agenda.