Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

To ditch Driving Instructor or not ...

47 replies

Autolearner · 18/11/2019 17:12

Name changed for this, and hopefully not to out of place here , but I am looking for people with more experience than me .

At 30 I’m finally learning to drive, which if you knew my history is a miracle in itself and have been having 4hours a week in Automatic lessons since September and been practicing with family and friends probably at least 5/6 hours extra a week in my own car. A month ago I passed my theory test and have booked my practical for second week of December.

Now my problem is I have not been taught any of the necessary manoeuvres needed for test? We parallel parked once in a lesson right at the start , but thanks to my own practice I’m comfortable . Bay parking (I’ve done fine outside of lessons), reverse bay parking, emergency stop etc we haven’t even touched at.

He claims I’m a natural driver , but when I mentioned I had booked the test last week he dithered slightly , I questioned whether he didn’t think I was ready . He repeated adamantly your a natural driver , but I want a few more lessons on motorways until your completely comfortable on them (I personally find them boring and have no enthusiasm, but at his prompting drive a junction or two every lesson for the last few weeks and join confidently and can read when to overtake etc)

I mentioned about manoeuvres and he said well some natural drivers struggle with them, and I thought I wouldn’t know because we don’t do them . I understand he teaches for life not just to past your test , but I’m getting frustrated. Every lesson we don’t drive the local test routes which I knew because I live on them, we drive outside spending most of our time on motorways , dual carriage ways and roundabouts off them. I’ve never seen another learner driver about during our lessons except just before the finish when we head back to nearer my home .