Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

WIBU to ask for completion from seller before their house is finished

33 replies

Katlow · 14/11/2019 15:57

I'm a first time buyer so I'm completely new to all this!

So, we put an offer in on a house, no mention of the fact that the sellers were looking at moving into a new build property. Fair do's, we should have asked.
Offered full price, accepted, all hunky dory.
I emailed the estate agent asking what sort of time scale we were looking at and she's let me know that they were putting an offer in on a new build property, so I asked her whether they were built or still under construction. After some chasing she let me know that they were still under construction and they were at roof stage due to be finished at the end of January.
However, I know that this probably won't be the case.
WIBU to say we want to complete at the end of January or beforehand or we'll be dropping out?
I feel bad because I know the reason that they're moving is because she's pregnant and I don't want to stress her out more than I need to!
The reason I want to get this through ASAP is because my DH hates his job and wants a new one which we obviously can't do until completion without taking a massive risk on the mortgage.

I'm not sure what the right thing to do is when buying a house as I've absolutely zero experience.

OP posts:
chipsandpeas · 14/11/2019 15:59

well you can but be prepared that they say no - i wouldnt move out to somewhere else before my house was ready just would cause more stress

londonrach · 14/11/2019 16:01

You can ask but they can turn you down and put it back on the market. Suspect if new build it wouldnt be complete by jan as its over winter and things often take longer. Is it a buyers or sellers market where you are. We in a sellers market but my inlaws in a buyers market.

Singlebutmarried · 14/11/2019 16:01

How long is your mortgage offer valid for. Most are six months or so.