Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

Universal credit argghhhh

20 replies

recklessruby · 11/10/2018 12:53

My best friend has just called me in tears due to her housing association wanting rent arrears of £1400 by tomorrow. She used to get housing benefit but uc have been paying her expecting her to pay the rent with it. She hasn't as she thought it was paid by them.
My friend has learning difficulties and works part time. She can't pay this.
She needs time.
Aibu to think uc is a shower of shit and putting vulnerable people at risk of eviction?
Also aibu to call her housing association later on her behalf and explain things?
Surely they can't expect her to pay all that tomorrow?
She can't function. She is in a blind panic and I have some experience of the rights of tenants and the benefits system (not UC though. That's a tough one).

OP posts:
gamerchick · 11/10/2018 12:58

How did you not know that UC pays the rent to the tennant and they have to pay it. It's been shouted about since it's conception?

Your best friend and you didn't know this? It's the first thing I tell our vulnerable families when they get moved onto this.

You can ring them maybe with her permission I don't know. Sort out a payment plan and standing order for it.

Then go through her budgeting with her.

recklessruby · 11/10/2018 13:03

I didn't know as I asked her if she was ok with rent and she said yes I ticked the bit about paying it to the landlord.
I only get a little bit of housing benefit myself so don't know about UC. It's only just coming into our area.

OP posts:
Lazypuppy · 11/10/2018 13:18

How did you friend not realise she had so much extra money per month asthe rent portion was being paid to her!?

recklessruby · 11/10/2018 13:47

I don't really know tbh. It's a right mess and I m trying to sort it out for her. They said they could issue an emergency payment which would be deducted from UC until it's paid off.

OP posts:
EwItsAHooman · 11/10/2018 13:49