My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

AIBU?

...to leave my job at 20 weeks pregnant?

11 replies

Puggles123 · 11/10/2018 07:48

For some background, I would qualify for SMP by the skin of my teeth as I am still fairly new to the job, but due to the nature of the job and my pregnancy so far I have been signed off for weeks. Due to several reasons (which may be outing) I am doubtful I will be able to go back before maternity leave, and am not planning to go back afterwards. Work have been as accomodating as they can, but the issues cannot be resolved- and I don’t want the stress of keep getting signed off and worrying about it, or to be problematic for work as they have been good to me.

Therefore, AIBU to quit? I would qualify for Maternity Allowance as I have been employed without a gap for the past 13 years and have earnt above their stipulated weekly amount; and I am fortunate enough to have savings and a supportive partner. I have spoken to a few agencies who would be happy to try and find me work for 3 months or so (I would have to give a months notice still), but in a more suitable role. Even a Christmas job with random hours would be okay- technically I would be able to survive without one financially, but best case scenario. I know I am standing to lose money through SMP etc, but I think it is fairer on myself and my employer in the long run, especially as I haven’t been with them too long and am not planning on going back.

Has anyone else done similar? Is it is a stupid idea?

OP posts:
FrazzyAndFrumpled · 11/10/2018 07:51

No advice but just wanted to say sorry that you’ve not been feeling well Flowers hopefully someone with something more helpful to say will be along shortly.

MilkItTilITurnItIntoCheese · 11/10/2018 07:51