My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Join the discussion and meet other Mumsnetters on our free online chat forum.

Chat

Help! Student nurse and symptomatic partner

54 replies

MandUs · 08/09/2020 22:27

Are there any nurses able to help as I can't find clear guidance on this.
I'm a student nurse on a hospital placement and my partner has a high fever with a cough (and some other symptoms). He's had a Covid test today but if the result doesn't come back before my next shift, am I expected to go in or stay at home and isolate as I've done so far?

Any guidance I can find only talks about health care providers being symptomatic but nothing about household members. Thanks.

OP posts:
rainbowunicorn · 08/09/2020 22:29

Surely this can't be a serious post. If you are really a student nurse then I despair. Use your bloody common sense. Have you not watched the news for the last 6 months?

MandUs · 08/09/2020 22:32

I have and if it was up to me I'd stay home but sadly there genuinely is no guidance given on this. Not from my uni either. And staff are expected to come in with cold symptoms so I genuinely don't know what is expected of me in this instance. Sorry if that offends anyone.

OP posts:
Frolicacid · 08/09/2020 22:36

Government advice is clear that you should be isolating until his results.
Your trust and or will have issued staff guidance. I’m not a nurse, but work for the nhs. Our trust has a staffing hub that you call for Covid specific issues.
Maybe start looking at their websites?

CormoranStrike · 08/09/2020 22:38

There is loads of guidance! If your or anyone you share a house/bubble with is awaiting a test result you isolate.

Serena1977 · 08/09/2020 22:41

Say what, student nurse you say, erm

I don't what should you do.

MandUs · 08/09/2020 22:42