Please or to access all these features

Chat

Join the discussion and chat with other Mumsnetters about everyday life, relationships and parenting.

Netflix question

11 replies

mynameiswah · 23/12/2019 23:08

I've just signed up and thought I'd share my account with 1 other. But on closer inspection it seems that other people on your account (profiles) can see my account details and even change my password - is that true??! Seems a massive mistake for Netflix to not keep the primary user's details safe and protected?

Anyone have experience of this and is there a way to safely share without compromising my account?

OP posts:
RedSoloCup · 23/12/2019 23:13

Probably as you're not really meant to share. I do but only with husband and kids in same house.

OhioOhioOhio · 23/12/2019 23:14

You are right. You'd have to trust them I guess.

Iggleonkupsy · 23/12/2019 23:15

Surely the person you'd be sharing it with will be a friend (or family member) so youd trust them not to change your password?!

Interested in this thread?

Then you might like threads about this subject:

mynameiswah · 23/12/2019 23:15

But netflix says I can add up to 5 profiles to my account? Perhaps I haven't got this sharing thing straight. I thought that meant I could share..

OP posts:
WeKnowFrogsGoShaLaLaLaLa · 23/12/2019 23:15

Just pay the extra £1/month to be able to safely share.

PhilomenaChristmasPie · 23/12/2019 23:17

I'm sure that means just family members. My DC both have profiles.

mynameiswah · 23/12/2019 23:23

WeKnowFrogs - where does it say to pay an extra £1 a month for privacy? I can't see it anywhere. I've signed up for £5.99 a month, first month premium as a promotion.

OP posts:
Pinkflipflop85 · 23/12/2019 23:28

The profiles are for people in your household. It is so the algorithms can suggest suitable stuff for each person. Dps watchlist suggestions are wildly different to mine!

LolaDarkdestroyer · 24/12/2019 00:03

You will only have one screen though in the £5.99 plan.

LtJudyHopps · 24/12/2019 00:09

They would send a reset link to your email, so unless the person also has access to your email account it’s not like they can do much?

DragonflyInn · 24/12/2019 03:58

£5.99 a month only gives you 1 screen so if your friend was watching something you wouldn’t be able to (after your 1 month of premium I guess).

I’ve always thought it was so different people in the same household could have profiles - eg so that my ‘continue watching’ and suggested programmes isn’t full of my kids crap!

New posts on this thread. Refresh page