New Golden Pup: pen or crate?

(24 Posts)
NicInBetween Mon 13-Jun-16 13:17:50

Dead excited and nervous in equal measure! I collect our golden retriever girl up a week today. I'm look at a crate but my DH reckons a pen would be better and less 'cruel'. I disagree. What do the experts say (not owned my own before)?

Also, what about a car harness? I've seen recommended the Sleepybod Utility Sport harness but only available in the US?

If relevant, I work from home so at home most of the day; have four children (youngest is 5). All tips on settling in a pup gratefully received!

Floralnomad Mon 13-Jun-16 13:24:10

Well fwiw I'm no expert but we used a pen until house trained and dog was free range after that but I'm not a fan of keeping dogs in cages , I think most dog owners prefer to call them crates because it sounds better than cage .

Notthecarwashagain Mon 13-Jun-16 13:34:30

Mine has this one. Travel crate
He loves it, it seems cosier than a metal one.
He isn't crated at night any more, just has the dining room, but he still goes in and sleeps in there, day and night, when he fancies it.
My other dog who has never been crated (we tried, but it really was a no from her!) now even goes in there.

I'm just using his harness (Halti) with a seatbelt adaptor for the car.
There's probably better solutions though.

All the best with your puppy! Hope you'll share a pic!

Notthecarwashagain Mon 13-Jun-16 13:36:18

I've just realised it says not suitable for puppies blush

FATEdestiny Mon 13-Jun-16 13:39:09

I'm not sure there is much difference between a pen and a cage? What difference are you expecting a roof to make?

We have a crate but don't close the door (pup is 5 months and not toilet trained at night yet). I have made a cover for the crate and have bought a think mattress for it (not just the thin mats that you can get). So it is something of a comfy "cave" for the pup.