So stressed after 3 weeks

(14 Posts)
Cazz246 Mon 27-Jul-20 11:10:39

3 weeks ago I started a part time HCSW clinic job with NHS. This area of work is something I have never done before and I was promised a lot of training, which I need. However, training is manager barking orders at 100 mph.
The problem is even after day one , I could see not just few cracks but huge crevices. HCSW and qualified RGNs all doing exactly the same work , work load is huge , nobody finishes on time . Manager blames it on poor time management of the member of staff.
Nurses are staying late , doing patient notes on days off, rota gets changed at the drop of a hat, no notice from manager, she expects you to check the rota everyday !
The main problem for me is in a couple of weeks time I will be left on my own to run a clinic ,with all the responsibilities of a qualified nurse I didn’t sign up for this level of stress.
I have had a horrendous weekend, crying, heart racing, headache. I don’t think I can make it in tomorrow or ever again. It’s already affecting my health, and ruining my days off.
I’m not far off retiring, so not ambitious, I just want to leave today with immediate effect.
Just wondering what opinions anyone has on never going back, literally ringing up today and quitting.

OP’s posts: |
CloudsCanLookLikeSheep Mon 27-Jul-20 11:20:13

Check your contract. I did this once in a job where there was no notice either side in the first month, presumably so they could get rid of someone they didn't like at will.

If your contract specifies a notice period you should get signed off with stress for it and simultaneously resign. There's nothing they can really do about it, and if you're not going to see them again then just do it.

Cazz246 Mon 27-Jul-20 11:38:01

I’m on 6 months probation, my contract actually says one month ( used to be a week) However, there would be no point in staying as I’m being trained for nothing!