Please or to access all these features

AIBU?

Share your dilemmas and get honest opinions from other Mumsnetters.

Remove myself from WhatsApp group?

30 replies

H0TSUB · 19/12/2024 11:26

I am having the worst year of my life. My Ds has been in hospital for two months among other things. I am generally a happy and fun person but I have been very sad due to a number of sad events in my family. I am part of a WhatsApp group of old friends who don't live close by where we chat every day but I'm finding it hard to contribute at all and I'm also finding all their happy Christmas photos difficult , I love that they're doing nice things but it's hard for me to see and I cry every day anyway. Shall I politely remove myself/ follow along and not post/ archive. Can't really archive because that would be rude.
I am not the only one of us having struggles, another is going through a divorce.
I don't want them not to share all their things because of me and they are good friends, how do I manage this?

OP posts:
H0TSUB · 19/12/2024 11:41

Yes I think I would need to say something but I don't want to be a bloody drama queen either
I don't think I can just archive because they'd wonder where I am and that's more drama

OP posts:
Jostuki · 19/12/2024 11:34

Hi everyone, I won't be on the chat for awhile as I have a lot onboard at the moment but will check in again in the New Year. Hope you all have a lovely Christmas. Best wishes, Diane.

Why can't you write something like that?

LoveRicePudding · 19/12/2024 11:31

I suggest you don't remove yourself, just mute the group. Be open with them and tell them you're going through some tough times and need a bit of me time. If they're good friends, they will understand. I have a very virtual group of friends, only met them few times in RL as we don't live in the same country but when one is in trouble, the rest rallies around her.
What do you know, maybe they will cheer you up a bit.
I hope your DS has a speedy recovery.

JingleB · 19/12/2024 11:31

No one will know you’ve archived the chat, and you can rejoin it discussion when you’re ready.

SharpWriter · 19/12/2024 11:30

I would archive then you can't see the notifications. I don't think it's rude as they won't know you've done it. You can look back at the posts if/when you feel up to it.