Talk

Advanced search

To get really upset when people talk to me and my dog

(151 Posts)
GeorgianaDevonshire Fri 19-Jun-15 17:04:06

She's my first dog so I'm new to all things canine and might be PFD about this. I put on one of her collars and matching lead (we have quite a selection already!) and off we trot to the local park - poo bags at the ready.

Every day, EVERY flipping day, someone speaks to us.

"Nice day"
"Lovely dog"

Kids will point and say "big dog", their mums will say "yes, it is a big doggy". Men try to engage me in conversation and, if the weather's a bit nippy, you can bet your life some old bag will tell me my dog needs her coat on.

AIBU in just wanting to walk my dog without men trying to pick me up, kids and their parents pointing at us and old biddies making passive aggressive comments?

GeorgianaDevonshire Fri 19-Jun-15 17:05:17

Oh and for the avoidance of doubt; I put collar and lead on dog, not me. And poo bags are for dog.

Theycallmemellowjello Fri 19-Jun-15 17:06:10

Eh? Obviously yanbu to object to pick up lines and pass agg comments. But none of the remarks you mention constitute those things.

TheXxed Fri 19-Jun-15 17:06:32

confused

AnitaPooh Fri 19-Jun-15 17:07:15

Are you serious?

travertine Fri 19-Jun-15 17:07:18

Oh for God's sake get a grip. People say nice things when they see other people doing a nice thing. Lighten up.

QuiteLikely5 Fri 19-Jun-15 17:07:30

Yabu

I can't actually believe that you are objecting to folk being polite, civil or friendly.

Jeeez

cardibach Fri 19-Jun-15 17:07:32

YABU and a bit odd. It's nice when people randomly engage with others, and part of a value of a dog is as a facilitator for this. (Posh way of saying it's nice that dogs encourage a bit of chat!)

dottygamekeeper Fri 19-Jun-15 17:07:42