Talk

Advanced search

to ask for your new kitchen advice / experiences

(13 Posts)
ghostyslovesheep Fri 12-Jun-15 20:56:22

because everyone loves a housey thread grin

about to move into a new house that needs a new kitchen - I have never done a kitchen before and ex husband is already making 'you will need to spend £54646464 and you'll get it all wrong' noises

so what should I do to make sure I get it right

I am buying the kitchen - I have my own fitter - what are the pit falls and top tips

Thank you grin

MehsMum Fri 12-Jun-15 21:05:40

You can never have too many drawers: big deep ones for saucepans, plastic tubs, etc etc. I had some made which have upright slots into which I put my baking trays, roasting tins etc. I also have a lot of small ones for all the crap that winds up in the kitchen (dog de-flea stuff, elastic bands, takeaway menus, painkillers, batteries, twine, cupcake cases etc etc etc).

I also have a drawer with full-height dividers so I know where in the drawer to look for the rolling pin or the tongs or the salad servers.

If you need them, a bookshelf for your cookbooks and a spice cupboard.

ghostyslovesheep Fri 12-Jun-15 21:20:19

thank you grin

I have added many draws it to my list of things I need x

SwingingBalls Fri 12-Jun-15 21:24:32

There's a thread somewhere about the ins and outs of planning for a new kitchen. I think it's in property/diy section. It has loads of good ideas and tips.
Unfortunately I'm crap at links.

Pastaeater Fri 12-Jun-15 21:24:35

I have just had my kitchen done and I have wooden worktops, which I love, but they are a sodding nightmare if you are not v careful with them. sad

Peachy27 Fri 12-Jun-15 21:26:33