Talk

Advanced search

If you liked Smilla’s Feeling for Snow, what else do you enjoy reading?

(18 Posts)
VeryPunny Thu 12-Oct-17 21:14:44

Smilla’s Feeling for Snow is possibly my favourite book ever. I love Smilla and I love the details about ice and the Artic, as well as the plot. I’ve got a cold at the moment and it’s my comfort read but I’ve nearly finished it and don’t have much else lined up. If you liked it, what else did you enjoy?
Thanks!

conserveisposhforjam Thu 12-Oct-17 21:17:54

When people respond to your thread op, or if you have any insight, would someone mind explaining to me the one sentence in that otherwise perfectly normal book which is absolutely freaky sex-wise?!?!?!

Please? shockgrin

VeryPunny Thu 12-Oct-17 21:23:00

You mean about when she fucks the mechanic with her clitoris?grin I can only assume it’s some follow on from both Smilla and her mother eschewing normal norms of their sex something something something...

conserveisposhforjam Thu 12-Oct-17 22:06:44

Yeah. That. Weird!

FannyFanakapan Thu 12-Oct-17 22:18:23

try looking at "What should I read next" website - type in a book you enjoyed and it will give you a list of other books in a similar genre.

whatshouldireadnext.com

mstrotwood Thu 12-Oct-17 22:52:17

Have a look at 'Dina's Book' by Herbjorg Wassmo (Norwegian) and 'Blackwater' by Kerstin Ekman (Swedish).

Hecalledmecarrots Thu 12-Oct-17 22:59:14

I love Smilla and it’s possibly my favourite book, apart from the ending. Very difficult to recommend further reading based on this book as it’s so unique. But I would recommend reading The Snowman by Jo Nesbo before the film comes out - highly atmospheric and scared the crap out of me!!

EskSmith Thu 12-Oct-17 23:02:45

Have you read a history of Danish dreams? Also by Peter Hoeg and equally bonkers (in a good way)

EskSmith Thu 12-Oct-17 23:05:05

Completely different but equally good on detail etc is The Kashmir Shawl.

AnyFucker Thu 12-Oct-17 23:07:09

.

Modestine Thu 12-Oct-17 23:15:09

Thanks for that link, Fanny...and the thread, OP. smile

MsInterpret Thu 12-Oct-17 23:54:45

Eowyn Ivey - The Snow Child. Snug, well-written. Alaskan pioneers with a bit of magical realism thrown in.

PhilODox Fri 13-Oct-17 00:31:08

I liked Miss Smilla and I liked The Snow Child. I also liked all of Peter Hoeg's other books (have read all, in translation, other than his newest).
Some are rather dark though.
I read several David Gutersons after Miss Smilla: snow falling on cedars, east if the mountains, the country ahead of us, the country behind.

I enjoyed books by Finnish author Pasi Ilmari Jaaskelainen- the rabbit back literature society, and where the trains turn.
Also Frederik Backman A man called Ove, and Britt-Marie was here.
I enjoy Annie Proulx and Haruki Murakami too.

VeryPunny Fri 13-Oct-17 07:37:37

Oh, some of these look fab, and I had forgotten about Murakami, I’ve liked a lot of his books. Also I haven’t heard of whatshouldireadnext - I sometimes use Goodreads but find the recommendations hit and miss. Got the weekend evenings to myself this weekend so feel a bit of book shopping coming on....

lucydogz Fri 13-Oct-17 21:50:16

It's one of my favourite books. Apparently The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series were inspired by the heroine, but I didn't enjoy the one I read at all. I agree with the Annie Proulx suggestion, especially That Old Ace in the Hole.

HopeClearwater Sat 14-Oct-17 00:23:12

New Finnish Grammar by Diego Marani. Beautiful book.
Btw did you hear Peter Hoeg talking about Miss Smilla... on Radio 4 this week. Very interesting.

lucydogz Sat 14-Oct-17 07:52:08

No! Which programme?

HopeClearwater Sun 15-Oct-17 10:42:17

Bookclub. Still on iPlayer.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now