Recommendations for maths/physics books for people who actually quite like the odd equation?

(9 Posts)
slightlyglitterbrained Sun 16-Apr-17 09:12:54

Have been a bit disappointed recently by pop science books on maths/physics that are apparently aimed at people who don't want to see any numbers.

Decades ago I studied both up to A level/early undergrad - so while I've entirely forgotten all the details I can cope with Hard Sums, if explained from scratch. I'm finding that explaining stuff to DS is rekindling my interest (though at 4 he's only getting fairly simple explanations) - so am looking for books about physics or maths that are hopefully a bit more visually exciting than my old physics textbooks.

Any recommendations? Not really looking for kids' books as this is for me and I want something a bit more meaty than "here are some stars. They are very far away! Look at the pretty colours!"

Sadik Sun 16-Apr-17 17:15:23

I don't know if they're the sort of thing you want but I've really enjoyed:
Alex's Adventures in Numberland (perhaps too few sums for what you want, but still very good)
Fermat's Last Theorem by Simon Singh (really excellent)
How To Cut a Cake & other Mathematical Conundrums by Ian Stewart
What We Cannot Know by Marcus du Sautoy

BobbinThreadbare123 Sun 16-Apr-17 17:22:30

Get some books by Michio Kaku. A bit of John Gribbin goes down well, too. Also, not a 'topic' book but more of a diary/documentary book suggestion is how Georg Bednorz and Alex Muller found high temperature superconductors. Fascinating. I will see if I can find the title; I read it when I was about 12 (Muller wrote it) and it got me hooked on physics.

CoteDAzur Sun 16-Apr-17 21:09:07

OP - re "books about physics or maths that are hopefully a bit more visually exciting than my old physics textbooks"

I have some non-fiction recommendations for you: