Talk

Advanced search

Authors similar to Philippa Gregory

(14 Posts)
bookwormbeagle Mon 27-Oct-14 20:45:29

Hi, I've been tasked with trying to find a birthday present for DSil. She likes historical type books and has read lots by Philippa Gregory, however BIL is not sure which she's read or not (helpful!).

So can anybody recommend a good book in the same sort of genre to get me out of a pickle. TIA smile

Queenofknickers Mon 27-Oct-14 20:46:25

Alison Weir is a similar author

Mumpire5 Mon 27-Oct-14 20:46:35

kate mosse?

Valsoldknickers Mon 27-Oct-14 21:24:23

Antonia Fraser
Jean Plaidy

bookwormbeagle Mon 27-Oct-14 21:32:17

Great thanks all, will check on amazon tmw.

footballsgalore Mon 27-Oct-14 21:34:55

Sharon Penman is really good.

Achangeisadgoodasarest Mon 27-Oct-14 21:36:52

War of the roses by conn iggulden is a good one too

DudleyDoRight Mon 27-Oct-14 21:38:40

Elizabeth Chadwick

Hedgehogging Mon 27-Oct-14 21:39:21

Second vote for Sharon Penman. "Here Be Dragons" is my favourite.

Pasithea Tue 28-Oct-14 00:39:40

Just reading Katherine by Anya Set on . I loved the phillipa books but to me this is solo much better.

yazz21 Tue 28-Oct-14 00:54:35

C.W Gortner has written a couple that are similar to Philippa Gregory's in the way their written. But are about Spainish royalty, which I personally really enjoyed smile

DuchessofMalfi Tue 28-Oct-14 07:48:02

I read and enjoyed Queen's Gambit by Elizabeth Fremantle earlier this year. It's about the life of Katherine Parr, Henry VIII's last wife (the one who survived him).

Or you might like Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel?

bookwormbeagle Tue 28-Oct-14 08:17:04

Some great ideas here. (I'd have a sneaky peek at her book shelves but she lives t'other side of the country!)

carlajean Sat 01-Nov-14 15:52:37

Kate Moss (in that they're both rubbish). Not helpful though, I know. If she likes PG she won't necessarily make the jump to decent historical fiction, but Alison Weir might be worth trying, or my favorite, Norah Lofts.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now