Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

KS1 teachers - what do you do with your able readers during phonics sessions?

(9 Posts)
dogtanianandthe3muskehounds Mon 05-Jan-15 23:07:40

So, I'm fairly new to Year 2. My class started the year with a fairly poor grasp of phonics so we are doing daily sessions following the Letters and Sounds programme. It's all going well, but I have a small group of children (4 or 5) who are now reading more or less fluently and not benefiting from further phonics practice. I was just wondering how other teachers use this time to get them to do something productive.

jackjacksmummy Mon 05-Jan-15 23:20:28

Watching because I need challenges for my highers in year 1 who also grasped all phases. My next step with them will be endless practice tests with plenty of alien words and activities for phonics screening in June.

melonribena Mon 05-Jan-15 23:44:24

I have some capable year 2 children. In the phonics session when others are doing phonics, they would do some reading comprehension work or I moved the focus onto writing, as that was what the children needed.
We would do sentence work, sentence starters, complex sentences, that kind of thing.

melonribena Mon 05-Jan-15 23:45:00

I have some capable year 2 children. In the phonics session when others are doing phonics, they would do some reading comprehension work or I moved the focus onto writing, as that was what the children needed.
We would do sentence work, sentence starters, complex sentences, that kind of thing.

Asleeponasunbeam Tue 06-Jan-15 22:06:05

jackjack, you are joking, aren't you?

toomuchicecream Tue 06-Jan-15 23:03:30