Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Money after highschool

(11 Posts)
ladybug92 Thu 19-Oct-17 22:37:04

DSD is 17, will be 18 when she finishes highschool and moves onto uni (hopefully). DH pays her mum the maintenance directly each month, this is meant to cease at 18 but we are going to continue while she is studying. I am wondering how to manage things up once she finishes school. We want to help her learn the value of money so not just give it to her mum but her mum still needs some help to house and feed her. We pay 400 per month, how would you go about spliting that up?

We thought 200 to mum for roof, food, bills and then we would foot the transport bill and uni materials and she can have 50 per month for saving/ coffees/ clothes/ whatever she like but this would decrease if she gets a weekend job.

Money is quite tight at home as DH isn't earning much due to MH issues and I am paying for DSD, her sister and my DD.

We would expect she would get at least a weekend job to pay for luxuries like coffees and meals out.

What do you think? How have other people done it? She currently is very unmotivated to find a job but wants money and unfortunately seems to get it without doing much...

Wdigin2this Fri 20-Oct-17 10:36:47

If you tell her, her allowance will drop if she gets a job.....she's not going to, is she?

SandyY2K Fri 20-Oct-17 12:21:17

Getting a weekend job while in Uni can impact on her studies. Although working one/two evenings or one day on the weekend is fine.

Is she going to live in halls of residence? Because I've been visiting universities with my DD for next year and accommodation costs from £90 a week to £200 a week.

Students get loans and the amount of the maintenance loan depends on parental income. That wouldn't include your income .. just her mum and dad. So she should get high amount depending on what her mum earns.

I'd like to commend you for paying for your DSDs, when you really don't have to.

I really hope your DH appreciates this.

ladybug92 Fri 20-Oct-17 12:36:39

Thanks for your replies. Haha true Wdigin, why on earth would she be motivated to get a job if we end up reducing pocket money...didn't think that through... lol
Good to know regarding loans Sandy, thanks. DSDs mum and dad together would have a lower wage so hopefully she will be eligible for loans, I'll look into that.

She will continue to live at her mums, it's not far from uni so we want to make sure her mum is still getting the support. We want to help with fixed costs rather than pocket money as they're easier to control and monitor. Then her mum who has her most of the time can decide on allowance amounts.

BackforGood Fri 20-Oct-17 13:16:32

If she is living at home, then I would continue with the money going to her Mum - it is for her living costs really. By the time she is at University then she can get a job to earn her own money for 'luxuries. I would talk with her Mum first to ensure you are on the same page, and then talk with her about expectations long before she gets there - there are a lot of weeks she can be earning after A-levels before going to university, and she might want to think about possibilities sooner rather than later.

ladybug92 Fri 20-Oct-17 23:08:31

Thanks for the advice, yep DH will definitely chat to her mum before hand and yes I agree if she is at her mum's then her mum bares costs so that's where we should help first

SandyY2K Sat 21-Oct-17 10:06:05

I would add that she should be given some money directly or she'll never learn how to budget.

So perhaps an allowance for toiletries and other bits.

crimsonlake Sat 21-Oct-17 10:31:03

Her maintenance loan will be based on the income of the parent she resides with. My sons live with me and my earnings are quite low so they receive the full maintenance loan.

donajimena Sat 21-Oct-17 10:36:43

Its based on household income not income of mum and dad in separate houses.

donajimena Sat 21-Oct-17 10:38:25

Oops already been said blush as you were.

donajimena Sat 21-Oct-17 10:41:40

As for getting a job impacting on studies it depends on the course. If its placement heavy its pretty impossible to work. My course is only two days per work so I work part time and study in the evenings and look after two children. We've been told (all ages in my cohort ) no more than 16 hours per week.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now