Which Grammar schools are more sporty

(15 Posts)
YSH3 Sat 15-Feb-20 02:18:45

I Want to know if there are any grammar schools that are sporty and not just academically strong. My son is smart but can not live without sports. We live around Bexley, Kent, Bromley and Orpington. It would be great if anyone can help. Thanks

OP’s posts: |
mylesta Sat 15-Feb-20 10:50:57

I've no personal knowledge but have seen Dartford recommended as good for rugby.

Enko Sat 15-Feb-20 12:48:26

Jud Tonbridge and Skinners Tunbridge wells are sporty however both are super selective

warnc007 Sat 15-Feb-20 12:55:05

Gravesend Grammar is quite sporty, with a range of different options

Grandmi Mon 17-Feb-20 21:36:03

My sons went to Skinners School it is a fantastic school with a very strong emphasis toward sport, especially rugby!!

Lobsterquadrille2 Mon 17-Feb-20 21:57:54

Agree with Judd and Skinners.

Lightsabre Tue 18-Feb-20 17:22:20

Judd and Skinners are sporty. St Olaves quite sporty too (has nice fields) and does Eton Fives but no football. Dartford good for rugby. All will do at least one PE session and a double games lesson a week with sports after school clubs and weekend fixtures.

NomNomNomNom Tue 18-Feb-20 20:08:05

I was also going to mention Judd which is strong on sports - especially rugby.

YSH3 Tue 18-Feb-20 22:23:40

Thank you all for your help. I have not heard of Judd or Skinners but looks like the majority of people agree that both schools are the most sporty. I’ll check them out. Hopefully they’ll be close by us.

OP’s posts: |
Enko Wed 19-Feb-20 18:08:47

Ds (Rugby mad) says Beth's grammar school in Bexley has an insanely good rugby side so worth looking at too.

MarchingFrogs Wed 19-Feb-20 18:23:12

Judd is in Tonbridge and Skinners' is in Tunbridge Wells and both allocate the majority of their places to those living in catchment. The admissions policies for all schools in Kent are on the KCC website.

Henlie Wed 19-Feb-20 18:27:01