Talk

Advanced search

Where to rent

(6 Posts)
OhhhhNoooo Mon 15-Apr-13 22:12:44

We are moving to the northern part of london and was wondering where would be good.

We're looking at a 3 bedroom with bit of a garden and preferably on the ground floor if a flat.

How much is the childcare/nursery's in the area?
How easy is it to get your shopping without a car?
What's the rent prices like?
Is there any areas to avoid?

Designjunkie Mon 15-Apr-13 22:29:03

You haven't mentioned budget. Prices will vary enormously in North London. Muswell Hill and Crouch End are great for walking distance to Tesco, Sainsbury, M&S, Waitrose and Planet Organic. Lots of coffee shops and bars. It's been a while since mine were at nursery but I think about £46 per day for private. Outstanding ofsted rated primaries and one Outstanding secondary in Muswell Hill - Fortismere. Lots of parks, very friendly. Unsure of rent prices and houses are mostly 5 beds, but a search on Rightmove.co.uk should give you some indication. Neither is on the tube but it is only a 10 min bus ride to the tube station. Highgate and Hampstead are beautiful but £££. Nowhere to avoid as such but if you are thinking of schools and coffee shops then you might want to steer away from Tottenham, Wood Green or Edmonton. (Hope I haven't offended anyone).

bamboostalks Mon 15-Apr-13 22:31:35

Think £80 a day for wraparound nursery care in muswell hill.

Designjunkie Mon 15-Apr-13 23:23:23

£80 per day! What are they offering these days ? Crazy prices. Sorry, but genuinely shocked.

OhhhhNoooo Wed 17-Apr-13 19:56:57

Thanks for that info.

As cheep as possible rent wise as we cant afford alot hence the move.

Sorry to drip feed. Had a bit of a thought and we'd also need the following:

- preferably somewhere where we can once a month get a train into london i.e via kings cross, so we can go to various places in london

- other than nursery's are there groups e.g. 1 oclock clubs, toddler groups which are free/releatively cheeply? How many of them are there?

Don't mind going further out but I'm thinking of winter time entertainment with 0 to under 4's. If it's anything like this winter we'll need somewhere other than a park to take them to.

- happy to bus or walk to supermarkets, activities, etc as long as it's safe (especially in the dark of winter).

Thank you

flow4 Wed 17-Apr-13 20:53:01

You still haven't said anything about your budget. You're looking at about £300/week minimum in Muswell Hill or Crouch End, and probably more like £400 with a bit of garden.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now