Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Flu Jab??

(13 Posts)
lovemybabyboy Mon 12-Nov-12 16:45:58

Just wondered if it is safe to get the flu/swine flu jab in early pregnancy?
I am a nurse so normally get it every year in work! confused
Dont know whether I should get it or not. I am about 5+2 wks.

Ellypoo Mon 12-Nov-12 16:54:23

I thought that it was after 12 weeks that they offered it, but I'm not sure, sorry - not much help!

HavingALittleFaithBaby Mon 12-Nov-12 16:57:30

Yes in fact they actively encourage you to have it! They keep telling me I should when I've already had it. Flu when pregnant puts both you and baby at significant risk. All I'd say is I felt particularly tired after mine because I was pregnant and to bear it in mind!

BonaDea Mon 12-Nov-12 16:59:16

Don't think it matters when you have it, but why not make an appointment with GP then ask?

HavingALittleFaithBaby Mon 12-Nov-12 17:05:20

this link should help

tasmaniandevilchaser Mon 12-Nov-12 17:37:31

I understand your thoughts, I normally get mine at work too but wanted to wait until the 12 wk scan. Unfortunately I still haven't had it as I got pneumonia the day after the scan.

It was very frightening to be that ill and pg. I couldn't face getting the flu as well, so I am very keen to have the flu jab but I'm still not well enough. I think the benefits far outweigh the risks.

SevenElvesAndAReindeer Mon 12-Nov-12 17:40:36

I agree with others, getting flu whilst pregnant puts you at a higher risk of going on to develop further complications. Definitely worth getting IMO.

mysterymeg Mon 12-Nov-12 18:14:38

I'm officially 11+ 5 but more likely to be around the 5 week mark and am getting it tomorrow.

Doc said as soon as possible is best in pregnancy.

ZuleikaD Mon 12-Nov-12 18:15:20

Yes - get it as soon as possible.

Dillydollydaydream Mon 12-Nov-12 18:42:03