Advanced search

New in Isleworth

(8 Posts)
yummumummy Tue 24-Jan-12 13:17:11

Hi there,
Also just read the thread although it seems to be over a year old now but nevertheless, happy to meet you Priyanka and Marghez. I have been living in Osterley for over five years now and have a 4.5 year old son and a nearly 3 year old daughter. I would love to meet up. I work full time but I am at home on Fridays and Weekends. Let me know if you would like to meet and we can organise something.

Also, to answer your question, there are loads ofactivities for the kids around here. My kids go to football class, ballet and swimming but there's loads more. Happy to give you any information that might be helpful.

Speak to you soon.

osterleymama Tue 10-Jan-12 16:15:07

Hi there, I've just seen this thread but I'm in Osterley too and would love to meet other local parents. My little boy is 16 months at the end of January.

Jaimy Mon 12-Dec-11 13:39:43

Hi Marghez,
I have a daughter who is 17 months and we are trying to find new friends too. We live in Osterley. I don't know many mums around here and would be nice to have some company too!

marghez Mon 05-Sep-11 01:23:02

Hi I couldn't help posting although the tread is from some time ago because I too just moved here from Vancouver BC with 2 daughters, saroj and Amrit, and I am in the same situation, they miss their friend terribly (and so do I) and I am eager to make new friends especially for my girls. So Priyanka, if you read this, any tips to share? How are things now? My girls are 13 months and 3 yrs old, I am not sure how old your are,anyway what I am saying is, I am really going to try to make new friends for my little ones and any suggestions is welcome and if you see this and are not too busy and your girls are of similar age perhaps we can meet up somtimes, or anyone else in the area who reads this.

anonymosity Thu 04-Nov-10 16:57:35

Yes, it does take time...there is also the NCT (National Childbirth Trust) which amongst other things, organises sales and events and coffee mornings for mothers and children - and I'm pretty sure that includes toddler age kids.

In the UK / London outskirts you will find some mothers at the local playgrounds are quite chatty and friendly (obviously not everyone) but this is often a place where you make friends (more so than it is in the US I have found...(don't know about Canada). Even if they are just casual friendships where you just chat when you see each other, it can really help on the lonliness front, just to have that contact during the week.

England is a bit grim in November, its probably the most miserable month - so be sure in the knowledge that things will look up, in terms of weather, sunlight and opportunities to go out. Hang in there!

Ssmommy Thu 04-Nov-10 16:29:43

Thanks Anonymosity,

That is really helpful as i was already starting to feel home sick wink. I guess it takes time to adjust to a place. My dds are aged 4 yrs and 23 months. I will do my research on the google n get more info.

thanks again!


anonymosity Thu 04-Nov-10 02:11:47

We are in the US but lived near Isleworth for some time. There should be lots of things for you to do, depending on the ages of your dds. You're not far from Kew Gardens where there are often child activities. Marble Hill Park in Richmond / St Margaret's has an activity center - two for two age groups (up to 5 yrs and over 5 yrs) and a coffee shop for mothers and kids (and anyone else).
There are organised classes for small children with Gymboree, Music Bugs. A little searching on google should start you off closer to home. Hope you find things and enjoy your time there smile

Ssmommy Thu 04-Nov-10 01:53:17

Hey All,

We just moved to london last week from Vancouver, BC living in Isleworth. I am looking for company for myself and my 2 DDs Samiya and Shaivi. Any inputs for child activities, play groups. Excited to meet new friends!


Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now