Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any legal concerns we suggest you consult a solicitor.

Red Light - Traffic Light offence - Advice appreciated!

(8 Posts)
worryovereverything Tue 02-Aug-11 07:06:51

Did something utterly out of character yesterday and drove through a red light at a pedestrian crossing.

Am totally and utterly mortified and thankful it did not result in someone being harmed.

I'm a new driver and the light was red so there should have been no confusion. Only thing I can think is that I went into pedestrian mode when seeing the red light and proceeded as if it was my right of way. I crossed the line, let a pedestrian cross (thinking it was my right of way) and proceeded whilst light was on red much to the horror of my passenger.

This sounds terrible, I know and am too ashamed to actually admit this out loud!

I know this crossing has ANPR cameras as well as other cameras and am dreading the outcome of this.

Have had a sleepless night and understand I have to wait to see if I am contated but wanted to see if anyone knew of anyone in a similar situation and the outcome?

Was thinking this would be a TS10 but am concerned the penalty could be far worse.

JenniL1977 Tue 02-Aug-11 07:20:01

Urgh. It's easy done, isn't it.
I've got a TS10 on my licence too.
I can't see that they can give you anything more than that though - penalty will be 3 points and £60 fine. I guess the thing that could make it worse was if you nearly hit someone else on the crossing and they make a complaint.
Make sure you ask for the picture, they won't send it as standard. But you never know, the camera might not be working.

Wallace Tue 02-Aug-11 07:26:03

I don't know about the outcome but I almost did this when I was a new driver. I stopped at a red light and then when the pedestrian crossing started to beep I started to move forward - far to used to being a pedestrian! blush

sockpoppet Tue 02-Aug-11 07:45:46